Vehicle stickers may be purchased at any time throughout the year. They are valid for one year, from May 1 through April 30. Vehicle sticker fees double after April 30. Please click here to purchase your Westchester vehicle sticker online.
Vehicle stickers for 2021 will not be available for purchase online or in person until the second week of March.
Vehicle sticker enforcement begins May 30, 2021 at midnight.
||Through April 30
||May 1 & After
|Regular passenger vehicle sticker
|Auto vehicle sticker for senior citizens (65 & older)
Veterans - Only one allowed per person
|Auto vehicle sticker for antique vehicles
|Auto vehicle sticker for handicapped plates
|Truck vehicle sticker (B plates or higher)
|Vehicle License transfer
Register All Vehicles with a Westchester Address
Residents are reminded that they must purchase a vehicle license for all vehicles housed in Westchester, as well as for all vehicles that are registered through the State of Illinois with a Westchester address. For example, vehicles that may be used at a second residence that are registered to their Westchester address are required to have a Westchester vehicle license.
Vehicle License Renewal Due Date
The Village Board, in their efforts to make procedures at Village Hall more customer-friendly, decided to change the due date for vehicle licenses from February 15 of each year, to April 30. In the past, residents were mailed vehicle license renewal forms in early December, with payment due no later than February 15 of the following year. Because mailing that went out over the holiday period when winter conditions may have been a hindrance for residents to place their new stickers on their windshields, the Village Board decided that it would be more convenient for residents to pay their vehicle license fees at a later time, when weather conditions were more favorable to taking stickers off the windshield and affixing the new license sticker.
Changes to Due Date
At their July 20, 2010, board meeting, the Village Board changed the due date from February 15 to April 30 of each year. Renewal forms were mailed to residents during late February 2019. Vehicle license rates have not changed, and the penalty for purchasing a vehicle license after the due date will stay the same. The late payment penalty is double the original vehicle license fee. For example, the passenger car vehicle sticker fee is $37, and the late renewal fee is $74.
Vehicle License Rate for Antique Vehicles
Residents who own an antique vehicle and have a State of Illinois antique license plate will now be able to purchase a $11 annual village license fee rather than paying the $37 passenger vehicle fee. The Village Board decided vehicles with State of Illinois antique plates are meant to travel infrequently on the streets and should not be required to pay the same fee as regular passenger vehicles that frequently use the Village’s streets.